Built in 1915 for the Rainier Brewing Company, the “Hamm’s Building” at 1550 Bryant operated as a brewery from 1915 to 1975. Vacant from 1975 to 1985, the 182,669 square foot building has since been converted to office space, just sold, and is about to undergo an “interior renovation program to further reposition the building’s creative space.”
UPDATE: When the brewery was shuttered in 1975, the iconic Hamm’s sign atop the building was removed. And while the buyers of the building have expressed interest in returning the sign to its place of prominence, its whereabouts are unknown. Readers?
∙ What happened to the Hamm’s Brewery sign? [SFGate]